Skip to main content




Welcome to the Cross Association’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Hub, a pool of resources from articles to podcasts that have been recommended by AEO, AEV, and ESSA members. The hub is an ongoing working project, with content being updated whenever new resources are submitted. Our hope is to receive enough varied content to cover all of the UK’s 9 protected characteristics within the Equality Act 2010.

Discrimination means treating you unfairly because of who you are. The Equality Act 2010 protects you from discrimination by:

  • Employers
  • Businesses and organisations which provide goods or services like banks, shops and utility companies
  • Health and care providers like hospitals and care homes
  • Someone you rent or buy a property from like housing associations and estate agents
  • Schools, colleges and other education providers
  • Transport services like buses, trains and taxis
  • Public bodies like government departments and local authorities.

Nine protected characteristics

There are nine protected characteristics in the Equality Act. Discrimination which happens because of one or more of these characteristics is unlawful under the Act.

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

To learn more about what the nine protected characteristics are, and what they mean for you, click the below button

Your rights under the Equality Act 2010

If you’re treated unfairly because someone thinks you belong to a group of people with protected characteristics, this is also unlawful discrimination.

Protected characteristics

gender ressisnment
marriage civil partnership
Pregnancy and maternity
religion or belief
sexual orientation

Other Considerations


To submit a resource for consideration on any of the DEI Hub, please send it to us by clicking the button below.

Submit a resource




The cross-association DEI working group is pleased to reveal the 'Five pillars of inclusion'.

The pillars provide a framework for the industry to guide organisations in implementing the right level of DEI in their business and will help measure and identify needs and/or progress in the following focus areas: recruitment and hiring, developing talent, company culture, partners and suppliers, and leadership and employees.  

For the DEI Pillars, please click here